Gopher to Badger Half Marathon

A week ago today, my dear friend Rachel and I ran the Gopher to Badger Half Marathon starting in Stillwater, MN and finishing across the St. Croix River in Hudson, WI.  If you are not familiar with this area, it is beautiful, trust me.

IMG_2911 IMG_2910

Our swag bags were pretty basic – shirt and bib, some anti-chafing samples, and a couple ads for other races.  I really like the shirt – it fits nicely and I like the V-neck.  IMG_2900

The race was pretty well organized with plenty of water/gatorade stations.  There were quite a few groups of people cheering throughout the course, and I even saw some old friends that were cheering on their sister who was running her first half marathon! It was fun to catch up with them afterwards.

I didn’t have my best race ever, but we all have those days.  I am kind of hard on myself when I don’t do as well as I would have liked, but mostly I just wished that I had felt better during the race.  Not sure exactly what was going on with me.  I’m sure I could analyze and come up with all kinds of reasons (It was hot. I didn’t stretch well enough. I donated blood recently. The relative position of celestial bodies in the zodiac – HA), but the truth is, some days are like that.  Even in Australia.  (Did anyone else love the book “Alexander and the Terrible Horrible No Good Very Bad Day” as a kid?? Classic.)  tumblr_m57t3gEvas1qz882eo1_500

I ended up with a time of 1:54:46, average pace 8’44″/mile, my slowest since my first half back in 2003.  This is really not a big deal to me (although it’s always a thrill to PR!) but like I said, I wished that I had felt better and been able to enjoy it.

The part I REALLY ENJOYED about this race is that one of my besties (friends going on like 23 years…) ran it with me!! We haven’t done any races together since high school so this was a treat! IMG_2917

IMG_0293

When I got home, my wonderful hubby had prepared the BEST SALAD EVER with a side of my biggest weakness, Reduced Fat Cheez-Its.  He is the best.  IMG_2925

I started my new job this week!  So far, so good.  I also had to get some head shots taken. Kale kept calling them glamour shots – I WISH! Brooke_Smars_1048_WEBSIZE

Seriously, if you need a good photographer in the Twin Cities, check out Sarah Pierce Photography (she does family/senior portraits as well) or her headshot specific site Minneapolis Headshots.  She was really great, and reasonable.

Workouts this week:

Sat: 13.1 Gopher to Badger Half Marathon
Sun: Rest
Mon: Rest
Tue: 5 miles
Wed: 7 miles
Thurs: Easy 3 miles walk/run with Kale and Buckley
Fri: Rest
Today: 18 miles

I felt great today for my long run! I took it kind of easy, and wouldn’t let myself look at my watch until towards the end of the run so that I would just listen to my body and go with that pace.  I even ran into my friend Matt and we ran together for awhile – bonus!!

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

