Run For Blood Quarter Marathon and 5K

This morning I ran the Run For Blood Quarter Marathon put on by the Red Cross. I’ve never really heard of a quarter marathon before, probably because it’s just slightly longer than a 10K (it was 6.55 miles/10.54K).

I picked up my race packet yesterday at The Running Room in Uptown Minneapolis.

20130727-165510.jpg

It was a bit chilly this morning, especially with the wind coming over the lake but it was beautiful. It felt a little like fall, my favorite season.

20130727-170329.jpg

The race wasn’t far from home, so I jogged about a mile to the start as a warm-up. The race was pretty well organized and got started right on time. The quarter marathon started slightly before the 5K and we went twice around Lake Calhoun in Minneapolis, and the 5K ran once around. I haven’t raced in a couple months (and now I’m in a new age category!) so it felt good! My Nikeplus running watch gave me a time of 50:40 for the 6.55 mile, which was about what the timer at the finish line said too, putting me at an average of 7’44″/mile.

20130727-173049.jpg
I got my metal (Jack Sparrow was there passing them out – random) and met up with Kale and Buckley (they came to watch) and got a few snacks.

20130727-173530.jpg
I didn’t stick around too long because A) It was cold and B) the marathon training plan I’m using called for a long run of 15 miles today, so I headed off to do another 7.5 miles before heading home (combined with the 6.5 and the mile warm-up for a total of 15).

After a shower and change (and hydration and snacks), I headed back down there to donate some blood at the blood mobile.

20130727-174735.jpg

The rest of the day has been a little cold and rainy, so it’s been a cozy little afternoon napping and watching a little TV. It’s time to rally, however, as I won tickets to a St. Paul Saints game tonight by being caller 10 on my favorite radio station The Current!

Leave a Reply

