Weekend Recap and New Shoes

It’s starting to sink in how little time I have left in LA before making the trek to Minnesota at the end of this month because the time is starting to feel like double time!! Everything is going so fast, between trying to find a place to live from 2,000 miles away (luckily I have an AMAZING friend who has been looking for us!), finishing up everything I need to at work, and trying to pack in all the fun stuff on our bucket list before leaving beautiful sunny SoCal! I’m almost afraid to blink, though I’m thrilled to be making the move closer to home and starting the next chapter in our lives. I just want to savor LA a little longer šŸ™‚

Thursday I had a quick little 3 mile treadmill run, and Saturday my longer run: 8 miles on San Vincente. It was pretty fun because once I got there, I realized that the AIDS/Life Cycle cyclists were finishing up the last 4 miles of their 545 mile ride from San Francisco (starting June 2) to Los Angeles (ending June 8) along the exact same stretch on San Vincente that I was running along! There was a big finish line celebration at the VA, and my entire run down and back on San Vincente I got to see the cyclists complete their epic ride. Pretty neat ride for a great cause. I felt so inspired!
20130609-180026.jpg
When I got back from running, Buckley was in the middle of doggie salon day. I swear I could knit a sweater with the hair following a good brushing and trim. THAT would be some talent. Also gross. I already wear enough Buckley hair on my clothes as it is. Apparently people actually knit with their dog’s fur. This website is awesome/horrifying. 20130609-225517.jpg
This was also waiting for me when I got back – new Saucony running shoes from Running Warehouse ! I have gotten Saucony running shoes exclusively since early high school – you might say we’re going steady. I’m not really sure how I got started wearing them but they’ve always been great shoes for me so I have stuck with them through the years. My last three pairs were the Pro Grid Peregrine 2 model, which I loved because they’re really light and comfy. You can still find them on Amazon. This time I decided to switch it up, and went with the Saucony Kinvara 3 model. I believe there is a Kinvara 4, but I’m not too proud to buy last year’s model and save a few bucks. I’m excited to try them out!

20130609-230845.jpg

20130609-230905.jpg.
I never know how long shoes should last or how often to replace. Some sources say anywhere between 300-600 miles, but it depends on your weight, terrain, type of shoe, yadda yadda. Personally I generally feel my shoes wearing out and not being as supportive at about 300-350 miles. I feel a little something in my knees and sometimes the inside of the shoes starts wearing and causing sore spots. I figure I’d rather change them out more often and avoid injury (and enjoy shiny new cool kicks!) than push for more mileage out of each pair.

On Sunday we tried out another restaurant on our LA Bucket List – Wurstkuche in Venice Beach. Normally this would not be my thing, seeing as I’m a vegetarian and this is a bratwurst restaurant. Turns out they have THREE vegetarian bratwurst and they are mmm-mmm good (at least the one I ate). I went with the vegetarian spicy chipotle brat with onions, spicy peppers, spicy mustard, and ketchup. It was pretty spicy which I love. It tasted a little bit like the soy chorizo from Trader Joes of which I’m also a big fan.

20130610-123334.jpg Kale had the duck brat, which he also liked, and we split fries with curry ketchup and pesto mayo. They had a whole host of crazy brat varieties, including a rattlesnake/rabbit combo. Weird, but surprisingly popular. I would highly recommend this place if you’re in LA (either Venice Beach or Downtown LA). I tried a delicious elderflower soda as well, which was amazing. What IS an elderflower?

20130610-123804.jpg

Some of our friends were visiting Disneyland from out of state this weekend, and we met up withh them for dinner at Downtown Disney. When preparing to head to dinner, my shoes looked like this:

20130610-124059.jpg. It cracked me up, and neither Kale nor Buckley would fess up to doing it.
At Downtown Disney I was impressed by the giant Lego Disney statues. Legos + Beauty and the Beast = two of my favorite childhood things combined for maximum enjoyment.

20130610-124519.jpg

20130610-124532.jpg Then I got a caramel apple because I’m 7.

20130610-124639.jpg

One thought on “Weekend Recap and New Shoes

Leave a Reply

