Take Care of Your Epidermis!

20130509-190259.jpg
You too can make your own Brooks Run Happy sign by clicking on the link!

This morning, I had to have a mole removed from my back because my dermatologist said so. I actually had a shave biopsy a couple of months back, and the pathology report showed some atypical cells, so they wanted to go back in and completely remove it. As a bonus, I get a 1.5 inch long BA scar on my back, humph. Not really excited about that but it’s better than being worried about skin cancer.

So today I wanted to take a moment to talk about protecting your skin during runs. Unless you only run and race indoors and on treadmills and hate sunshine, you probably spend considerable amounts of time outside, especially if you’re training for a longer distance race or are the “outdoorsy type”, like moi. It’s important to take care of your largest organ, your epidermis! You live in your skin, after all.

For some reason, I tend to forget about things that are so simple and obvious when I head out for a run. I wouldn’t go to the beach without sunscreen and sunglasses, and I go running way more often than I go to the beach.

20130509-210104.jpg

20130509-210302.jpg
So, it’s official since I’m putting it in writing and sending it into the blogosphere: my new goal (before even thinking about PRs for upcoming races) is to WEAR SUNSCREEN for every outdoor run. Hold me to it.

I want to make it clear that most moles are benign and are nothing to worry about. It is a good idea, however, to have your doctor take a look at them periodically, and monitor them yourself for any changes. It’ll help you sleep better.
Some signs to look out for on moles, and if any of these seem to apply, have a dermatologist look at it:
A- asymmetry
B- border is irregular, ragged, blurred
C- color is inconsistent throughout, or has tan, blue, red, white, black, or brown
D- diameter is large
E- evolution (it’s changing)

Anyway, that’s my two cents on the topic. Runners World had an article on the topic this week: Save Your Skin

I’m bummed because they don’t want me doing much exercise for a few days or anything that will stretch my back and tear out my stitches, because the spot is right in the center of my back where it’s easy to put tension. I’ve recovered from the half marathon and a busy week at work and ready to go! Oi oi oi….ahh vel. With my extra time when I would normally be running, I’ll have to be satisfied with obsessively looking up races and scheming about my summer running schedule (oh wait, I do that anyway).

Official photos are out from the Safari Park Half Marathon – huzzah. As always, I think that the price they ask for copies of these horrendous, unflattering visual documentation of your agony is outrageous. Unless what you pay them actually goes toward destroying them…then it might actually be worth it! 😉 I kid, I kid. But seriously, I know maybe some people are a little more photogenic during races, but there is no way I’m shelling out $15 for a 5×7 of this:

20130509-212745.jpg
I’m sure this was at the top of the monster hill and I could not for the life of me figure out why they would take my picture at that point. Hence, the glare.

I just had a delicious dinner tonight at Asahi Ramen So awesome. A piping hot bowl of noodles and veggies the size of my head. They are so big that I get AT LEAST two meals out of it, and full meals at that! Sooo yummy.

20130509-213137.jpg

Almost Friday!

3 thoughts on “Take Care of Your Epidermis!

  1. Pingback: Topanga! | Come Run or Shine

  2. I agree about those pictures!! They were totally taking pictures at the top of a hill… who would possibly look photogenic at this point?? Great race though, and so glad you were there!! You were amazing as usual 🙂

Leave a Reply

