Safari Park Half Marathon Recap

20130507-224811.jpg

 

The text is a little small in the picture so I decided to write it out too:

“Every morning in Africa, a gazelle wakes up.  It knows it must run faster than the fastest lion or it will be killed.  Every morning a lion wakes up.  It knows it must outrun the slowest gazelle or it will starve to death.  It doesn’t matter whether you are a lion or a gazelle.  When the sun comes up, you’d better be RUNNING.”

I love this proverb (I believe I read it originally in Born to Run) and felt it appropriate given this past Sunday’s half marathon at the San Diego Zoo Safari Park. You’ll be happy to know I walked away unscathed by wild animals.

My husband Kale, sister-in-law Kelsie, Kelsie’s co-worker Robbie (all three first time half marathoners!), and friends Mike and Andrea stayed at one of the hotels that was near the race and that provided shuttles to and from the race. We woke up pretty early to eat, dress, and catch the 5:15 shuttle. Once we got to the race, we met up with friends Kira (a bridesmaid in our wedding) and her husband Brian (who officiated over our wedding), as well as my friend Molly who went to grad school with me. Such a fun group!

Molly and me, pre-race:

20130507-222111.jpg

Kelsie, Kale, and me:

20130507-222254.jpg

The race got started just slightly after 6:30. For the first several miles, I thought about trying for a PR, something under 1:46, that is until I saw the ominous mile 7 hill. I swear it peaked above the clouds – it was a monster! Also there was loose sand the whole way up which didn’t help. At that point I decided to just go with what pace felt right and enjoy myself.

The majority of the race was not through the Safari Park, but there were a few camels and cows (the exotic safari variety – read: Wisconsin dairy) along the way, and then it ended in the park, near the flamingos and cheetahs. I ended up with 1:49:09 and placed 8/322 in my age category. I was decently happy about it, particularly considering the hills and that I haven’t been running that much in the last few weeks. No PR this time but gives me incentive to do more hill workouts and speed work (and find flatter races, ha!)

I was so proud of Kale! He’s been traveling a lot the last few weeks and pretty sporadic with his training, and he still pulled off a 1:59 in his very first half!

20130507-220026.jpg
So proud of my sister-in-law too! What troopers to run such a challenging course for their first half!
The lovely Kira pulled off a PR despite the hills, she is seriously destroying her record with every half she does! She and Brian are also considering a move back to the Midwest, so I’m hoping we can keep doing races together in the future!
Molly, Kira, and me:

20130507-222409.jpg
The crew, sans Molly:

20130507-222537.jpg
Overall, great race, on the smaller side (in a good way) and so fun, and a good challenge. Best part was that friends and family were there too!
Oh, and remember the mysterious plastic object I mentioned in my last post?

20130507-223510.jpg
The instructions say to heat in microwave until warm. I was skeptical, and good thing because it turned out to be a plastic cow with a metal keychain on the end…

20130507-223954.jpg So random.

One thought on “Safari Park Half Marathon Recap

  1. Pingback: Santa Monica Classic 10K | Come Run or Shine

Leave a Reply

