First Post!

Welcome to my very first blog post! I’m just getting the hang of this, so bear with me por favor.  Here’s a little about me:  My name is Brooke and I love to run! A few months ago, I also began to follow several running blogs.  I realized, I’m doing the same thing that a lot of these bloggers are doing, which is running and thinking about running and reading about running and then fueling their runs with some good eats!  Now – I know that several bloggers that I follow actually get paid for what they do and have spent a lot of time creating a following and crafting each post.  I probably don’t have that kind of time, but I figured, why not?!  I’m about to enter my next decade (turning 30 in June!) so it’ll be a new goal in addition to my regular running goals.

I had a couple great runs this weekend.  Yesterday morning I headed to the Santa Monica Pier (I’m living in Los Angeles this year) and got in a nice 7 mile run.  It was HOT, even at 9:30! Lots of people out enjoying the weather.  Here are some pictures:

Start of run - Santa Monica Pier

Start of run – Santa Monica Pier

As a native Minnesotan, I'm not used to such consistently sunny weather!

As a native Minnesotan, I’m not used to such consistently sunny weather!

Turned around at the end of this Pier just past Venice Beach

Turned around at the end of this Pier just past Venice Beach

Stopped for a quick self-portrait

Stopped for a quick self-portrait

Finished up the 7 miler (I love my Nikeplus running watch BTW - OBSESSED)

Finished up the 7 miler (I love my Nikeplus running watch BTW – OBSESSED)

I stopped on the way home and decided to jump on the ol' bandwagon finally and try out these coconut waters.  Officially a fan.

I stopped on the way home and decided to jump on the ol’ bandwagon finally and try out these coconut waters. Officially a fan.

Today, I ran with my two faves, my hubby and puppy, Kale and Buckley (respectively). We ran 4 miles down San Vincente (also a favorite LA run of mine). Screen Shot 2013-03-03 at 5.05.11 PM

We had a nice run, I love when they join me. I convinced Kale to run his first half-marathon with me (Safari Park in May) so I’m excited to do more runs with him. Buckley loves running too, but I typically don’t like taking him more than 4-5 miles because he starts lagging a bit and his tongue starts dragging on the ground (almost).

Well I think that’s enough for my first blog post, especially since I don’t have anyone following (yet)!! I’m optimistic though 🙂 So – this is the part where big name brands start sending me cool running swag to write about, right? 😉 Bye for now!

Leave a Reply

